top of page


Creating a character remains generally the same with a few differences to suit the lore of The Elder Scrolls.


1. Choose A Race

Each character has a race that it belongs to. Some races, such as Khajiit, also have subraces. You can read more on the Races page. You can also read more about the races on many Elder Scrolls fan sites, in game books, and collections of these books that can be purchased from Bethesda or your favorite book supplier. 


2. Choose a Class

Every adventurer is a member of a class that broadly describes the character's vocation and special talents. The character classes are described on the Classes page. 

    Many of the classes take inspiration from the traditional classes of the early Elder Scrolls games, such as Daggerfall and Morrowind.


3. Determine Attribute Scores

Use the rules as described on page 13 of the Player's Handbook to determine your attribute scores.


For consistency while testing, use the following scores instead: 15, 14, 13, 12, 10, 8.


4. Choose a Background

Every character has a background with ideals, bonds and flaws. The backgrounds can be found starting on page 127 of the Player's Handbook. You can view the changes to backgrounds on the Backgrounds page.

Along with a background, each character is born under a certain birthsign. You can read more on the Birthsigns page.


5. Choose Equipment

Classes and Backgrounds determine your equipment, or you can work with your DM and the adventure story line to determine what, if any, items you will start with.

bottom of page